Health Discovery Network
Sign in to follow this  
Jen..

Runners Please Help!

Hi there,

I've been running pretty regularly and for a couple of months, for 29 min every day. Recently, I've been having this nagging pain at the bottom of my foot, in the middle of fleshy part near my heel.. does anyone have this problem before?? It's quite painful at times, and I've been put off running for about 2 weeks.. only to get back slowly..

Would appreciate any advice! Thanks!

Jen..<br /><br />ACTION - He who starts a journey of a thousand miles begins with ONE STEP...

Ouch, sounds like a heel spur. I had one about a year ago and it lasted for a couple of months.the pain was expecially bad after waking in the morning and if I sat for any period of time.

The thing that really helped me was stretching my calfs properly(yes I know it sounds weird because it's your foot that hurts) before and after exercising. My Doc told me the muscle causing the pain extended down my leg and under the foot. Heel cups may also provide some relief. They are available at most pharmacies and stores like Walmart.

You may want to look around on the net for the type of exercises, and the proper techniques for the exercises, that ease the pain and fascilitate healing. Suggestion... "heel spur exercises" typed into a search engine such as google.

Good luck buddy, I feel your pain ugh.gif

Sheryl

"How we spend our days is, of course, how we spend our lives"...Annie Dillard<br /><br />190/141/143.5/135<br />sw/wwg/cw/pg 5'3"<br /><br />SD 9-17-02/LT 7-22-03