Health Discovery Network
Sign in to follow this  
OutdoorGyrl

Over-training Help (Too much exercise)???

Hello everyone,

Well, I've been doing Weight Watchers for eight months now, combined with a quite intense workout schedule. I have been bumping up my cardio sessions, because my body feels better when I work out more (I can't believe that I am actually saying that, who would have thought!) and I've lost 102 lbs total, which is just over 2.5 lb average per week.

Anyway, some of the people from the gym have voiced their concerns that I may be over-training, or working out too much, which has lead me to become paranoid that I am going to end up doing more harm, than good. At the same time, I don't feel sore or tired and my body feels better than it has in years. I've been asking many people this question and some long-time trainers have told me that my schedule looks okay, especially since it is such a wide variety and stretched throughout the day.

For some background info, I am eating enough and combine plenty of lean proteins with fruit, veggies and whole grains. I stick within my point value and I eat ALL of my activity points, to account for the exercise. I also drink a TON of water. I'm afraid if I back off, I'll stop losing or that it will slow down. Plus, I don't feel right when I don't exercise and I end up sluggish and more tired than when I am active.

Also, I get 7 1/2 to 8 hours of sleep per day and I don't work out if I'm feeling tired or sore. As long as I'm feeling good, here is a regular week for me. I'm just looking to see if anyone here has opinions on whether or not this seems like "over-training" or if it looks okay.

Monday

Body Pump (cardio weight lifting) 6:15 - 7:00 AM

Cardio on the elliptical : 7:00 - 7:15 AM

Cardio on the treadmill (level 15 incline) 12:15 - 1:00 PM

Step Class or running : 5:30 - 6:30 PM

TOTAL WORKOUT : 2 HRS. 45 MIN.

Tuesday

Body Step Class : 6:15 - 7:00 AM