Health Discovery Network
LKS1025

choosing a goal weight

Hello! I'm still fairly new to WW - I finished a 12 week WW at work program and lost 10 pounds (yay!). And I was able to keep a steady weight in the month interim before the next WW at W round started this week. My question is this - I'm 39 years old, my start weight was 152, I'm at 142 now, and I'd really like to finish at 132 (or less!). (I'm 5'5") I know this last 10 pounds is going to be tough. It would be my pre-pregnancy weight before my first of 3 children. So far our WW Leader hasn't really given advice on picking a goal weight, she's emphasized the 5% and 10% numbers.

Any advice on picking the goal weight?

Thanks,

Laura

Laura

joined WW 10/12/09

start weight: 152

current weight: 142

You should have the BMI chart somewhere, with an upper limit for a healthy BMI. That's supposed to be a guideline, though you can go over that. It's really where you feel good and where you can maintain.

SW: 240:bcb_cry:

WWGW: 120:kickbutt:

PGW: 115:bcb_up

I'm 5'0 on a good day.

1st goal: 5%, or 228 (12 pounds)

weight.png

:welcome: Laura!

My advice would be to call your goal weight pretty close to the top of the range for your height. You don't have to STAY there, but it makes it easier along the way. Sometimes we set our goal weights too low and then it becomes impossible to maintain that weight long-term. There's nothing wrong with setting the goal weight a bit high and then aim to lose a few more pounds and try to maintain there. Better safe than sorry. It's easier to adjust your goal weight down than it is to adjust it back up!

Kimberley