Health Discovery Network
duroc_2000

The science only works when you do your part

Like many of us who are currently on WWers I am a veteran of numerous programs from the past including the old liver and tuna days. Since those days, the science of food and nutrition has advanced astronomically. No one has been more involved in this research than the scientist at WWers. With the new Pointsplus program we are getting to experience the results of their hard work. Just like many others here I was highly sceptical when I received my new material. The first thing most of us notice is the increase of points allowed per day as well as an increase in the weekly points we are allotted. Because we are accustomed to the old plan we naturally equate an increase in points with a decrease in results on the scale. I do not believe this to be true with the new plan. First, many of the points for certain foods have increased. Foods higher in simple carbs and fat but lower in the good stuff like protein and fiber have increased. Some as much as 3 fold. This in itself is teaching us to choose our foods more carefully. If we do this we will be allowed to consume more food. If you are a volume eater like myself this will keep us more satisfied and more likely to stay OP. Second, our body breaks down and processes different foods in different ways. If we were to look at our body as a furnace then complex carbs, protein, and fiber would be like notebook paper quickly consumed. Once that external food source is extinguished then our bodies turn to the next available fuel source which is our stored fat. Fat and simple carbs are much different. They would be more like a huge log that even though it might burn, the next morning there is still some left. That left over log is what gets left on our butts.:bcb_smile The scientists at WWers understand these issues but they are not the catalysts that drive your success. YOU ARE! In order to get the results we want we must do our part. Researchers c